Your first computer?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by efraz, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. efraz

    efraz

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine was a "Tiny" (brand) 486 DX2, running Windows 95.

    It must have been about 1996/7 and involved lots of playing Lemmings and Cyberia!
     
    efraz, Mar 6, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. efraz

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    For me it was a 'Clive Sinclair' Special.. A ZX81.. Truly awful but kept us entertained for hours..
     
    Kemical, Mar 6, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. efraz

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Spectrum 48k for me - oh how I loved that machine! Even got the 128k +2 and +3 in the following years, which provided years of fun.

    The first PC was an Olivetti 8086 :).
     
    Ian, Mar 6, 2012
    #3
  4. efraz

    agoodwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't remember the name of my first computer, but it was laptop where the display was a colorless. It was pretty strange computer, even internet did not work in it.
     
    agoodwriter, Apr 9, 2012
    #4
  5. efraz

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    My first computer had a 6502 microprocessor. It had 16Kb ram, used cassette tapes as storage media and c/pm as an operating system. The monitor was the same one that you see in hospitals being used to monitor heart beats.
     
    Victor Leigh, May 4, 2012
    #5
  6. efraz

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    ZX80, built from a kit, which I then converted to the ZX81. With the sudden inflow of models, around then, apart from the experience, this was a waste of time. As there was an offer to upgrade to the "QL" this was my next. A total disaster, very buggy and with software output compatible to nix! Slight diversion, for my son, to the commodore - great gamer by standards then. Then came what we are more familiar with today - the IBM PC. My memory fails, but I think it ran on 256Kbs of memory. No multi tasking, but you could buy word processors and spreadsheets which worked fine. (Wordstar was my choice.)
    Used CP/M for starters(8Bit). This was "snatched by a young gentleman and became his success story - Bill Gates. I then moved on to DOS.
     
    davehc, May 4, 2012
    #6
  7. efraz

    cluckis

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    The first computer I can remember was a Windows 95 shared with my family (Our family didn't get a computer right away). The first computer that I privately owned was my Dell Studio, which is the laptop now running 8. Now I mostly use my MacBook Pro, iPad, and the Dell Studio for windows 8.

    The guy at the store when we got the 95 said, "1GB of space will be enough for a generation", Well, that's changed.
     
    cluckis, May 6, 2012
    #7
  8. efraz

    clifford (c_c)

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    30
    Don't you just love sales techniques? Changed is a mild word when you think about applications like Nero and Office needing 1GB a piece to install. And for installing games, I can see needing on average 1GB to 4GB with each game installed. This is not to mention the 20GB to 40GB that Windows needs after being completely setup for each users needs.

    I've tried keeping my Win7 OS partition size set at 30GB. I have been forced to change my Windows 7 OS partition size from 30GB to 50GB. No matter how how much regular cleaning was done, Windows 7 seemed to gain disk space with each Windows Update.
     
    clifford, May 6, 2012
    #8
  9. efraz

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    Remember how Windows used to have a 640Kb limit? I read somewhere that when Bill Gates wrote MSDos, the ram used was 64Kb, so he figured that setting the limit at 10 times that would be more than enough. It just shows the attitude of the person, doesn't it? Why can't he just set it as unlimited from the very beginning? If I remember rightly, Mac doesn't have this kind of limit.
     
    Victor Leigh, May 7, 2012
    #9
  10. efraz

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    Lot of wheeling and dealing around that time. I am an admirer of what Gates did for the world, but, unfortunately, he cannot take credit for writing DOS. But he can take credit for being able to see the potential of the system. Ditto when he saw Xerox/windows in use
     
    davehc, May 7, 2012
    #10
  11. efraz

    TheMightyEddy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    My first computer was actually a Dell which was a desktop. It still works perfectly to be honest and I still use it occasionally.
     
    TheMightyEddy, May 17, 2012
    #11
  12. efraz

    Tchégéda

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Val de Marne, France
    My first computer was created in 1997 with Windows 95. I had created this PC piece by piece "ASUS, AMD and ATI" and I had a screen Belinea.
     
    Tchégéda, May 25, 2012
    #12
  13. efraz

    Tully

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    My first home computer was a Radio Shack TRS 80.
    Had 2 (TWO) 51/4" floppy drives. Had a built in monitor

    My first work computer was A PDP 8E. No monitor yet. Input & Output was by 8 binary switches for booting & punched tape for loading programs. Programs were in basic & the tape was punched on a "Friden Flexowriter" (made in Sweden"

    Tully
     
    Tully, Jun 11, 2012
    #13
  14. efraz

    clifford (c_c)

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    30
    Every time I hear someone mention punch cards, I wonder what it must have been like to work with them. They were a few years before my time.
     
    clifford, Jun 11, 2012
    #14
  15. efraz

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    Think of it as having a whole box of credit cards which you have to swipe one by one until you finish the whole box of them before you can withdraw your money. That should give you some idea of what it was like.
     
    Victor Leigh, Jun 12, 2012
    #15
  16. efraz

    Tully

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is very seldom noted the history of computers in the "Space Race".
    This is what put computer design in "High Gear"

    I was in the Machine Tool design industry at that time. We built the machines that made the parts for the missile program.

    The accuracy required to make the parts were unheard of! 50 millionths of an inch in a Meter Cube. (notice the mix of inches & meters, it would haunt the program & cause the crash of some missiles.)

    To make the required parts in the time & accuracy was impossible using traditional methods.
    Enter Computers & Computer Operated Machine Tools! They produced parts on-time & with required accuracy required.

    Just calculating resonate frequencies of the Machine Tool Parts was almost impossible to calculate with out a computer & the Basic Program. If the computer controller issued a command that would cause an oscillation in the machine tool, it could destroy the machine.

    The tradition way of marking parts was for craftsmen to make one part by hand. If it did not work or if more than one was needed, missed deadline. With computers parts could be made to any specifications in any number. If a change had to be made it could be done in minutes!

    At that time everything was done using ASCII 8 channel punched TAPE produced on a Friden Flexowriter. This typewriter punched the tape as you typed. It was invented for writing documents & letters & making many copies of them.

    I have several patents on design features of these computerized machine tools!

    Tully

    That was a very exciting! & I was there!!
     
    Tully, Jun 12, 2012
    #16
    clifford likes this.
  17. efraz

    Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was the Pentium 4 2.8 Gz..Needed it college that's why I was forced to buy it.
     
    Ron, Sep 24, 2012
    #17
  18. efraz

    midnightwarrior

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel P60. I can't remember the make, but I remember it came with Windows 95!
     
    midnightwarrior, Sep 26, 2012
    #18
  19. efraz

    habibk20

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first computer was a Intel Pentium 200Mhz MMX with 540MB Hard drive and 16MB ram. and the CD drive was Creative Infra... The Girl used to talk in Creative Infra Software.... it used to be soo fun. it was back in 1996, and we used to work mostly in DOS and Windows 95.
     
    habibk20, Sep 26, 2012
    #19
  20. efraz

    Core coffee & gigabytes Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Finland
    An IBM XT, with a massive 20 Megabyte hard drive. It ran Windows 3.0. It was so slow that I could play Tetris on it until it reached maximum score of 30,000, after which it would roll over to zero, because due to lack of processing power the game never got so fast that I couldn't keep beating it.
     
    Core, Sep 27, 2012
    #20
    habibk20 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.