Windows keeps lowering VLC volume in Volume Mixer

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Core, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. Core

    Core coffee & gigabytes Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Finland
    Windows keeps lowering the volume of VLC down to about 20%. This appears to happen quite randomly, but I assume there is something triggering it. I have VLC playing a video in a screen, and I am browsing the web (Facebook, Gmail, the usual stuff) and all of a sudden Windows drops the application's volume in the Volume Mixer. This is really annoying. Any ideas?
     
    Core, Oct 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Have you got any communication devices plugged in to your PC - i.e. a USB headset, mic, etc..? I remember in Windows 7 (and I assume similar in 8) that there was a setting in the "Communications" tab of the sound control panel applet that can reduce the volume by 80% when comms activity is detected. Perhaps it's something related to that, as it ties in with the 80/20 volume reduction?
     
    Ian, Oct 2, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Core

    Core coffee & gigabytes Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Finland
    No, just regular speakers, and USB dongles for the wireless mouse and keyboard.
     
    Core, Oct 2, 2012
    #3
  4. Core

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have a separate (realtek) sound system, but, I wonder if it could be this function in the Windows default sound:

    View attachment 112
     

    Attached Files:

    davehc, Oct 2, 2012
    #4
    Core likes this.
  5. Core

    Core coffee & gigabytes Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Finland
    That's a good tip. I don't have any communications devices attached, but that's not to say that can't be the problem. I'll give that a go, thanks!
     
    Core, Oct 2, 2012
    #5
  6. Core

    lucasbytegenius

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    13
    Coming off of the communication devices angle, I've found that Skype will do this to you as well even if you're not talking to anybody.
     
    lucasbytegenius, Oct 2, 2012
    #6
  7. Core

    Malcolm McCurry

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having the same problem. Under Communications, I turned the When WIndows detects communication activity: to Do Nothing. Hasn't happened since.
     
    Malcolm McCurry, Nov 6, 2012
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.