Windows 8 Start Button

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by mike244, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. mike244

    mike244

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a new Windows 8 user and I'm trying to make the start button work the way that Windows 7 does, is that possible? When I click on the desktop tile, clicking the start button just returns me to the green tile screen again. I want to see the old start menu so I can launch things just by typing a few letters.

    Is there a way to get this back?
     
    mike244, Sep 25, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mike244

    Thrax

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Open regedit and go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer. Change the value of RPEnabled to 2.
     
    Thrax, Sep 25, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mike244

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Isn.t that "change to 1" ?

    What I did,mike, if you have the space, is created two users. One with the mod and one without. Log in and log out takes a very few seconds. You can also go to Windows - System32, and rename shsxs.dll to something else (shsxs1.dll ?) which will do the same thing. Make a copy of the file somewhere else - just in case!

    But you should be able to double click on the button and launch the application
     
    davehc, Sep 26, 2011
    #3
  4. mike244

    Thrax

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Changing it to 2 will disable Metro but leave the new task manager and ribbon UI.
     
    Thrax, Sep 27, 2011
    #4
    Elmer BeFuddled likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.