Windows 8 Consumer Preview Download

Discussion in 'Windows 8 News' started by Ian, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. Ian

    micheal

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got it to download from microsoft, i was wondering is there a way i can boot from the free agent external drive i downloaded it to so i wont have it with win7 and same drive.
     
    micheal, Mar 1, 2012
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    Phil K

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers Dutch - sadly, I put it on over my Windows 7 before reading your wise words. Not realizing I'd have to do a fresh install if and when this gets taken off (and it will, not greatly impressed thus
    far. Did we have to activate it ? It activated fine. HATE not having the start button, although staring to get used to it - is there a way to get the start back ? Not interested in mose of the tripe like XBox on that Microsoft Phone thing.
     
    Phil K, Mar 1, 2012
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    Tchégéda

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Val de Marne, France
    I am very happy by this new version of Windows 8 :)
     
    Tchégéda, Mar 1, 2012
    #23
  4. Ian

    Phil K

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a way to get the start back ? I noted someone had a way via regedit, but got through to the end, and the last place wasn't there to change the value !
     
    Phil K, Mar 1, 2012
    #24
  5. Ian

    Tchégéda

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Val de Marne, France
    But in the new version this trick no run.
     
    Tchégéda, Mar 1, 2012
    #25
  6. Ian

    Tchégéda

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Val de Marne, France
    Here is my first screen of Windows 8 :
     

    Attached Files:

    Tchégéda, Mar 1, 2012
    #26
  7. Ian

    wjd2

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Huron, MI US
    It seems from the screen shots (thx) that MS is starting to follow (Android) instead of leading. Is that a fair assessment? (Having only seen the above pics). It doesn't seem very 'visually' appealing, and if our hardware is current, speed shouldn't be a problem.
     
    wjd2, Mar 1, 2012
    #27
  8. Ian

    waxace

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it quick (under 5 minutes)due to blazing speeds here...

    [​IMG]
     
    waxace, Mar 2, 2012
    #28
  9. Ian

    Phil K

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Absolutely. But I just wonder if there is still a way.
     
    Phil K, Mar 2, 2012
    #29
    Tchégéda likes this.
  10. Ian

    Phil K

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats superb. My speeds are going up when Virgin (yes, the Virgin Atlantic People) increase it in a few weeks time in my area. Hopefully, it'll get up close to your speed there.
    Doubt I could get THOSE speeds though. Wheew ! Maybe half that, two thirds max.
     
    Phil K, Mar 2, 2012
    #30
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.