Windows 8.1 DNS problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jackson Caspar, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. Jackson Caspar

    Jackson Caspar

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am currently travelling Europe and staying in hostels. Most of the hostels connect to the internet through a browser popping up after connecting and entering log in details. However, my laptop is having problems and it only shows the network as limited connectivity and when I open my chrome browser (and IE) it just pops up with a page saying DNS probe started and then doesn't ever connect.
    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks
     
    Jackson Caspar, Jul 14, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jackson Caspar

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    You can try first to reset your Winsock Catalog....
    Open an elevated command prompt (run as admin) and type
    netsh winsock reset
    hit enter
    reboot.
    If that doesn't do it you can try resetting your TCP/IP Stack
    same deal.... elevated command prompt and type
    netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
    hit enter
    reboot.
    IF neither of those work you might try this
    http://www.rizonesoft.com/software/complete-internet-repair/
    It does both of the things above as well as several other things that may address the problem.
    Just check all the boxes and let it do its' thing.
    Reboot when it's done.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    Trouble, Jul 14, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jackson Caspar

    babyelina

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    1.Connect another device to the network. Before you begin trying to solve the issue, it will help to know where the issue is occurring. You can narrow down the problem by performing a few quick tests. Connect another device to your router, either wired or wirelessly.
    • You can use another computer, or a smartphone or tablet. Anything that accesses the internet will work to test.


    • 2.Try to access a webpage from the second device. If you are still receiving DNS errors, then the problem lies in your router or with your ISP. If you can connect to the website, then the problem is coming from the first computer.
    3.Power cycle your modem and router. Unplug your modem's power cable as well as your router's power cable. Allow them to sit unpowered for at least 30 seconds so that any residual charge is released and the memory is cleared. Reconnect your modem, and wait for it to fully connect. After it has powered on completely, reconnect the power cable to your router and allow it to boot up. This could take up to a minute.
     
    babyelina, Feb 23, 2016
    #3
  4. Jackson Caspar

    Random

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the same problem. Ill try the troubleshoot
     
    Random, May 29, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.