What's the Procedure for switching from a AMD based video card to a Nvidia video card ?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by brkkab123, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    What step's would I follow to switch from a AMD based video card to a Nvidia based video card ? I'm planning on getting a GeForce GTX 760 some time next week.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 26, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. brkkab123

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    It should be pretty straight forward.
    Device manager uninstall the AMD device, check the box that says include drivers.
    Control Panel, uninstall associated software like Catalyst Control Center.
    Turn off computer and physically remove the AMD card.]
    Replace it with your new nVidia card,
    boot the computer and go to http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
    grab the appropriate driver for your OS and architecture and install.
    Shouldn't be too much more to it than that.

    If you are worried about any left over remnants you can always use a product like Driver Fusion (formerly Driver Sweeper) from here http://treexy.com/products/driver-fusion
    Just select AMD Display and tell it to scan and see what turns up.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2013
    Trouble, Aug 26, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    (SOLVED)Thanks, I already have a regular & beta Nvidia driver downloaded.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 27, 2013
    #3
  4. brkkab123

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Good that you've planned ahead.
    Keep us posted and let us know how things are progressing.
     
    Trouble, Aug 27, 2013
    #4
  5. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah, I've been in upgrade mode all year. September - GeForce GTX 760 and October - Samsung 840 Pro 256 gb. (Vertex 3 120 got too small). Then down the road faster ram and a 2nd GTX 760. December, I'm getting a new notebook, though, while the Christmas sale's are going on.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 27, 2013
    #5
  6. brkkab123

    airplayne

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    California
    If you are still in upgrade mode, may I recommend switching out your existing hard drive with a SSD. Much faster than the bigger, bulkier HDD.
     
    airplayne, Aug 27, 2013
    #6
  7. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    Already have one airplayne. I'm getting a bigger one in October, though.
     
    brkkab123, Aug 27, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.