Watermark Removal

Discussion in 'Customization' started by sashimi, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. sashimi

    sashimi

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to remove the watermark in Windows 8 leaks?

    No big deal if not, but it would make the desktop look a little better.
     
    sashimi, Sep 24, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sashimi

    clifford (c_c)

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    30
    You would be better off just dealing with the watermarks. Removing the watermark can lead to problems of its own.
     
    clifford, Sep 24, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sashimi

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    I strongly concur with Clifford's post. This is an early release, not even Beta. If you just like "tinkering", then go for it. Otherwise best familiarise yourself with the new OS in its virgin state.
     
    davehc, Sep 25, 2011
    #3
  4. sashimi

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    Someone has now come up with a solution. Download this zip file. Read the text file carefully. I have got it to Work on the 64Bit release.
     

    Attached Files:

    davehc, Mar 5, 2012
    #4
  5. sashimi

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    If like me the above solution doesn't work then here is a temporary solution. Make sure your hidden files and folders are revealed and navigate to:
    C\Users\Your name\Appdata\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Themes
    Inside the folder 'Cachedfiles' is a cache of your desktop. Using an app like Paint.net open the cached file and remove the watermark with something like a clone tool. Make sure you just hit 'save' when done and then either reboot or log off. This method works as long as you don't change wallpapers but if you do then just repeat the process.

    [​IMG]
     
    Kemical, Mar 6, 2012
    #5
  6. sashimi

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmm. Curious. It worked for me without hassle.
     

    Attached Files:

    davehc, Mar 7, 2012
    #6
  7. sashimi

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    Yeah I tried it a few days ago and just wouldn't have it for some reason???
     
    Kemical, Mar 7, 2012
    #7
  8. sashimi

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have just read, Kemical, that changing the theme and then back again seems to trigger it?
     
    davehc, Mar 7, 2012
    #8
    Kemical likes this.
  9. sashimi

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    Hmm... ok I'll give it another go. Thanks for the heads up.
     
    Kemical, Mar 7, 2012
    #9
  10. sashimi

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    Yayyyy it worked! Thanks Dave!
     
    Kemical, Mar 7, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...