Update SSD driver

Discussion in 'Drivers' started by DarkRepulser, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. DarkRepulser

    DarkRepulser

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    Is there a way to update the driver of a SSD? I tried via device manager but it says it's already the latest version, but I'm sure there are newer versions out there. I'm using a Corsair Force 3 SSD.

    Thanks.
     
    DarkRepulser, Mar 7, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DarkRepulser

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Are you having a problem with it?
     
    davehc, Mar 7, 2013
    #2
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. DarkRepulser

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Typically there wouldn't be a driver update exactly for your drive. An update for your drive controller would be more likely and would probably be best sourced from your motherboard manufacturer or the actual controller chipset manufacturer.
    There are firmware updates for SSDs and again those would be from the drive manufacturer itself http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=97417
    As Dave is probably suggesting and which is also suggested from the manufacturer, if you are not having issues than a firmware update is not likely needed.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    Trouble, Mar 7, 2013
    #3
  4. DarkRepulser

    Kougar Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you're having a problem with it you should update the firmware. Corsair has a tool to do this available on their product support page.

    The only way to update the AHCI driver built into Windows itself, is to install Intel's RST driver available here: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=21730

    This driver package is intended for RAID deployments, but in the process it replaces the Microsoft AHCI driver with Intel's own updated AHCI driver. Review websites will install it anyway just for the ACHI driver even when not using raid.
     
    Kougar, Mar 8, 2013
    #4
  5. DarkRepulser

    DarkRepulser

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    My motherboard doesn't support AHCI, couldn't find a setting about it in the BIOS menu. Anyway, thanks for the advice. I managed to update my Corsair's firmware on my SSD and now it's pretty much a faster.
     
    DarkRepulser, Mar 8, 2013
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.