Unable to reset my PC

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Moe, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. Moe

    Moe

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joliette QC,Canada
    HI,

    For some reason when I click on Settings the General command is not there. I need to reset my PC can I go about some other method or do I have to reinstall.

    Moe
     
    Moe, Mar 11, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Moe

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    After you have clicked settings, then click "more settings". This will bring a menu with general included.

    But. What do you mean by "reset"
     
    davehc, Mar 11, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Moe

    Moe

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joliette QC,Canada
    Sorry excuse my bad use of words. I am French speaking and I meant reinstalling without erasing my programs. I tried your suggestion and sorry to say it does not work. When I click Settings at the top of the page The only command available is Tiles and help. More setting is not there. At the bottom of the page I have the usual Keyboard, wireless connection etc..

    Thankyou
    Moe
     
    Moe, Mar 11, 2013
    #3
  4. Moe

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    From the Charms bar. (Windows Logo Key + C) click settings.
    Then at the bottom click "Change PC Settings"
    Then in the left column Select the "General" link
    And look at the second two choices from the bottom
    Refresh and
    Remove everything and reinstall Windows.
    Both will cost you your applications including, I believe, most of your Metro Apps.
    So this is not a likely solution for what you wish to perform. Sounds more like you need an "In-place, upgrade, repair" which I haven't tried yet with Windows 8 so I can't say that it is possible, and from what I can find is likely impossible if you've installed Media Center on top of your Windows 8 Installation.
    You may want to try Bing or Goggle and see what info might be out there regarding an upgrade from within the operating system using the installation media.
    See attachments, they may help you understand a little better
    Regards
    Randy
     

    Attached Files:

    Trouble, Mar 12, 2013
    #4
  5. Moe

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks for the correction , Trouble. ( Change PC settings). I guessed the term (badly) and didn't work it through!
    I avoid using the charms bar.
     
    davehc, Mar 12, 2013
    #5
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.