Somewhat annoying BSOD

SOLVED Discussion in 'Crashes, BSODs and Debugging' started by LoneWolfMage, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    Attached is screen shot of what I have for "Power Management " in device manager for my NIC .

    The check mark for .only allow magic packets... no matter what configuration I try to do in the power management tab,, still ends up 'check marked' ..

    I Do have another blue screen and kernel dump that happened today .. that will will upload in my next post
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 8, 2014
    1. Advertisements

  2. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    1. Advertisements

  3. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    In that pic go to the "Advanced " tab and look for any "Power" of "Green" energy settings.
     
    Shintaro, Jun 8, 2014
  4. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    there is NOTHING listed under the advanced tab that references power or Green settings
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 8, 2014
  5. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    I would say that the network card is trying to do some type of power down and messing up the address where it is writing data. Then when it tries to recover it is throwing an exception.

    Code:
     # Child-SP  RetAddr  Call Site
    00 ffffd001`7c7058c8 fffff803`f31ef230 nt!KeBugCheckEx
    01 ffffd001`7c7058d0 fffff803`f31cd116 nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0xd80
    02 ffffd001`7c705910 fffff803`f31e54ed nt!_C_specific_handler+0x86
    03 ffffd001`7c705980 fffff803`f316f105 nt!RtlpExecuteHandlerForException+0xd
    04 ffffd001`7c7059b0 fffff803`f316dfbf nt!RtlDispatchException+0x1a5
    05 ffffd001`7c706080 fffff803`f31e9bc2 nt!KiDispatchException+0x61f
    06 ffffd001`7c706770 fffff803`f31e8314 nt!KiExceptionDispatch+0xc2
    07 ffffd001`7c706950 fffff801`971afc71 nt!KiPageFault+0x214
    08 ffffd001`7c706ae0 fffff801`971ae86a l1e51x64+0x2c71
    09 ffffd001`7c706b10 fffff801`95349cb3 l1e51x64+0x186a
    0a ffffd001`7c706b40 fffff801`9531849a ndis!ndisMShutdownMiniport+0x93
    0b ffffd001`7c706b70 fffff801`9530c109 ndis!ndisSetSystemPower+0xc286
    0c ffffd001`7c706bf0 fffff801`952840d9 ndis!ndisSetPower+0x91
    0d ffffd001`7c706c20 fffff803`f31a938b ndis!ndisPowerDispatch+0x99
    0e ffffd001`7c706c50 fffff803`f3159794 nt!PopIrpWorker+0x2df
    0f ffffd001`7c706d00 fffff803`f31e45c6 nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x58
    10 ffffd001`7c706d60 00000000`00000000 nt!KiStartSystemThread+0x16
    
    
    
     
    Shintaro, Jun 8, 2014
  6. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Can you get a screen shot of the Advanced Tab please.
     
    Shintaro, Jun 8, 2014
  7. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Also go to: Control Panel -> System and Security -> Power Options -> Edit Plan Settings
    "Change advanced power settings"
    Go through the list and look for any Ethernet or other network adapter settings.
    Change it to "Maximum Performance" if available.
     
    Shintaro, Jun 8, 2014
  8. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    Just thought I would update this..

    Since we last spoke and did remote assistance .. I have had 4 blue screens

    3 of which were NOT visible ( no blue screen but they were reported in Blue Screen View) The only one that was visible (which causes me to update this ) was this morning (6.13.2014 at approximately 7 am my time)

    Link to dump files http://www.mediafire.com/download/hbi122ijdunsssl/6.13.2014_(2).zip

    ***edited to add***

    No new software has been installed OTHER THAN windows updates.
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 13, 2014
  9. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 19, 2014
  10. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tonight ..

    Visible BSOD...full system crash..
    Dump file link http://www.mediafire.com/download/wft0qot2b7duc92/6.18.2014(2).zip


    ****Edited to add... and not to be demanding too much but *****

    Shintaro help please.. I have seen you.. or someone else... have been accessing the files on media fire ( have been watching the 'download count' ) and have also seen that you have logged in recently ( yesterday as of this current post) if you have any other advice .. please give it ..it would be appreciated..


    Thank you ..
    LoneWolf
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 19, 2014
  11. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    The last crash dump points to the Nvidia driver.
    Code:
    SPECIAL_POOL_DETECTED_MEMORY_CORRUPTION (c1)
    Special pool has detected memory corruption.  Typically the current thread's
    stack backtrace will reveal the guilty party.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: ffffcf8145340fc0, address trying to free
    Arg2: ffffcf81453408ac, address where one bit is corrupted
    Arg3: 0000000000614038, (reserved)
    Arg4: 0000000000000032, caller is freeing an address where nearby bytes within the same page have a single bit error
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xC1_32
    
    SPECIAL_POOL_CORRUPTION_TYPE:  32
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VERIFIER_ENABLED_VISTA_MINIDUMP
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  iexplore.exe
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    ANALYSIS_VERSION: 6.3.9600.16384 (debuggers(dbg).130821-1623) amd64fre
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80387412bb6 to fffff80387372fa0
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    ffffd000`5e371fd8 fffff803`87412bb6 : 00000000`000000c1 ffffcf81`45340fc0 ffffcf81`453408ac 00000000`00614038 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    ffffd000`5e371fe0 fffff803`87413600 : ffffcf81`45340fc0 ffffe000`65ef3000 00000000`00000293 fffff803`878a307a : nt!MiCheckSpecialPoolSlop+0x8a
    ffffd000`5e372020 fffff803`874b5376 : 00000000`00000040 00000000`00056e7b 00000000`00000000 00000000`484c764e : nt!MmFreeSpecialPool+0x14c
    ffffd000`5e372160 fffff801`ccebf2b4 : ffffd000`5e3722c0 00000000`00000001 ffffcf81`46d284b0 ffffcf81`46d284b0 : nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x1096
    ffffd000`5e372230 fffff803`8788a130 : ffffcf81`45340fc0 00000000`00000001 ffffcf81`46d284b0 ffffcf81`46d284b0 : VerifierExt!ExFreePoolWithTag_wrapper+0x10
    ffffd000`5e372260 fffff801`ce79a5af : ffffcf81`46842f70 ffffcf81`46842f70 ffffe000`65ef3000 00000000`00000000 : nt!VerifierExFreePoolWithTag+0x44
    ffffd000`5e372290 ffffcf81`46842f70 : ffffcf81`46842f70 ffffe000`65ef3000 00000000`00000000 ffffcf81`46d284b0 : nvlddmkm+0xd75af
    ffffd000`5e372298 ffffcf81`46842f70 : ffffe000`65ef3000 00000000`00000000 ffffcf81`46d284b0 fffff801`ce73351a : 0xffffcf81`46842f70
    ffffd000`5e3722a0 ffffe000`65ef3000 : 00000000`00000000 ffffcf81`46d284b0 fffff801`ce73351a 00000000`00000000 : 0xffffcf81`46842f70
    ffffd000`5e3722a8 00000000`00000000 : ffffcf81`46d284b0 fffff801`ce73351a 00000000`00000000 ffffcf81`46842f70 : 0xffffe000`65ef3000
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    nvlddmkm+d75af
    fffff801`ce79a5af ??  ???
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  6
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nvlddmkm+d75af
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: nvlddmkm
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  nvlddmkm.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  537a8efc
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0xC1_32_VRF_nvlddmkm+d75af
    
    BUCKET_ID:  0xC1_32_VRF_nvlddmkm+d75af
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:0xc1_32_vrf_nvlddmkm+d75af
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {e00ff4a4-7ff2-1daf-92ca-9507477da2e8}
    
    
    
    I think you are currently using version 337.xx there is now a version 340 in beta HERE.
    Maybe give that a try.
     
    Shintaro, Jun 28, 2014
  12. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    umm no .. on the beta drivers ..... I DONT do BETA stuff ULESS I have to ...

    I have never done Nvidia Beta drivers.. I wait till they are WHQL finalized ..

    My current drivers are version 337.88 the 340.43 is a BETA driver ..and I wont go there
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 28, 2014
  13. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The only other way then is to go back to an earlier version of the Nvidia driver for your GT 610.
    Are you able to do that?

    Maybe 331?
     
    Shintaro, Jun 28, 2014
  14. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 28, 2014
  15. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    one of those pumps ( most recent ) WITH OUT verifier running
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 28, 2014
  16. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just had a look at the crash dumps. l1e51x64.sys was your network driver, so time to look for a $20 network card on eBay that has Windows 8 drivers. That NIC is simply causing you far too many issues.

    Code:
    
    BugCheck 1000007E, {ffffffffc0000005, fffff801ca9b4c71, ffffd0005d8b68a8, ffffd0005d8b60b0}
    Probably caused by : l1e51x64.sys ( l1e51x64+2c71 )
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    BugCheck C1, {ffffcf810e966dd0, ffffcf810e9668ac, f14230, 32}
    Probably caused by : l1e51x64.sys ( l1e51x64+37d0 )
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    BugCheck C1, {ffffcf8172430dd0, ffffcf81724301ac, 3b4230, 32}
    Probably caused by : l1e51x64.sys ( l1e51x64+37d0 )
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    BugCheck C1, {ffffcf81bf01cdd0, ffffcf81bf01c1ac, b14230, 23}
    Probably caused by : l1e51x64.sys ( l1e51x64+37d0 )
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    BugCheck C1, {ffffcf80157eef80, ffffcf80157ee02c, 4d4080, 32}
    Probably caused by : l1e51x64.sys ( l1e51x64+3752 )
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    
     
    Shintaro, Jun 28, 2014
  17. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    so BASICALLY its the NIC that's causing issues .

    even with all the driver upgrades and downgrades. ..... ..

    It boils down to ( as per previous posts) the possibility of my MOBO not being Win 8 ..'certified'
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 28, 2014
  18. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yep, the NIC in this instance. The motherboard not being Win Cert is an easy way for the manufacturer to say "We are not going to write any more drivers, because we want you to buy our newer product."
    It is a small price considering the only thing that doesn't work is the NIC.
    I had a quick look on ebay and there are NIC's that have Win 8 Drivers. So it is a nice and cheap way out. I don't like spending money unless I have to or suggesting to people to spend money, but in this case it is the best and cheapest way around the issue.

    Seriously if the Motherboard wasn't "Certified" then you would expect Windows 8 not to work at all.

    Sorry I can't be of more help
     
    Shintaro, Jun 28, 2014
  19. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can get the NIC.. that's not an issue ..

    What I an wondering/worried about that Is a possible conflict between my on board NIC and a 'independent" NIC ??
     
    LoneWolfMage, Jun 28, 2014
  20. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Should not be a problem. It will be using it's own memory, IRQ and have it's own driver. Just disable the on-board LAN (p. 2-13 in your motherboard manual) before you restart the system with the new NIC installed.
     
    Shintaro, Jun 28, 2014
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.