Somewhat annoying BSOD

SOLVED Discussion in 'Crashes, BSODs and Debugging' started by LoneWolfMage, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ok?
    Well if you have another crash then please upload it.

    Are you able to make it crash?
     
    Shintaro, May 3, 2014
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    NT If I get another crash I will upload the dump ..

    Can I FORCE a crash .. no .. as I mentioned .. it just 'happens' .

    The only thing that seems 'semi constant' is the timing (meaning the time between) of the crashes.

    I USUALLY(almost every night) shut my system down nightly and turn it back on in the morning.. unless I'm doing tests (as per your suggestions so far) or if I'm doing a full defrag(with cccleaner) or doing a game update.(neverwinter or a steam/ubisoft)

    But even with those going I have NOT gotten a 'crash'

    The only thing I can think of that's left .. is due to the fact that according to ASUS .. my Mother board is not "Win 8 certified" ..


    Did you want me to keep Driver Verifier running with the parameters you suggested .. ?? or not .. as of this post it is stopped/reset.

    Or was there any other tests you want me to run?


    Thank for the help Shintaro.

    I wont set this as solved YET ...

    ** please note to all to all this is NOT a reflection of lack of help.. its just a matter that my computer is being 'difficult' **

    ~LoneWolf
     
    LoneWolfMage, May 3, 2014
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    Leave verifier on for a couple of days.
    We will just have to wait for another crash.

    About your motherboard being "not certified", yes and no. Meaning, sounds like a company covering themselves. There must be thousands of pc's out there running Windows 8 without problems that are "not certified".
     
    Shintaro, May 3, 2014
    #23
  4. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    Thanks again for the advice. I haven't really been at the computer for a couple days so I haven't been running verifier. I will re activate it today and leave it for a couple of days and see what happens.

    As far as the "not certified" , I definitely agree with you when you mention about a company covering themselves. Just figured id toss that out there due to the fact I WAS having issues ( which I mentioned in another thread) about finding drivers for a particular motherboard component that was showing up as a warning in Device Manager.

    I did eventually find the right driver that I needed. Either that or one of the windows updates 'fixed' it. Who knows. But all I know is that It did 'fix itself' and I no longer have the warning :)

    Thanks again.. and I will update this thread if and when I have another crash .
    ~LoneWolf
     
    LoneWolfMage, May 5, 2014
    #24
  5. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Cheers mate,

    Could you make sure that Driver Verifier stays on.
    Also please open a command prompt as Administrator and run the following command:
    Code:
    wmic recoveros set DebugInfoType = 2
    
    Your crash dumps are set to mini dumps and it can be more useful if they are set to Kernel dumps.

    Cheers.
     
    Shintaro, May 6, 2014
    #25
  6. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    New crash today. Normal DMP file attached as zip.

    I'm assuming you will also need the Kernal one as well that is(im assuming) located all by itself in the windows folder and is named MEMORY.DMP ?

    If so, ill upload it to Media fire or some other site and once that is done I'll send a link to get it .

    Its a REALLY big file in size. :(
    Seems like it will take a LONG while for it to upload.. even zipped/compressed. the file size when zipped/compressed (both dumps included) is approximately 142 mb in size.

    ***Edited to Add***
    I forgot to mention.The blue screen apparently happened while I had my monitor shut off but with the system still running. When I went to turn the monitor back on (computer does not sleep or hibernate) about an hour an 1/2 later I was presented with a totally black screen and had to force a reboot(pressed rest button) and I checked BlueScreen Viewer to see if possibly it crashed. Sure enough there was a new Blue Screen Report in the viewer. The Bug Check String was the same as my most recent with the same Caused by Driver(ntoskrnl.exe) and a Caused by address of ntos.krnl.exe+153fa0.


    ***Second Edit***

    I got the zipped file with both dumps in it uploaded to media fire here is the link.
    https://www.mediafire.com/folder/6yr67yp07v4xm/Dumps

    If you need anything else let me know :)
    ~LoneWolf
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 8, 2014
    LoneWolfMage, May 8, 2014
    #26
  7. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    And another crash today ..

    This one caused by verifier.

    Mini dump attached.. If you REALLY NEED the kernel dump let me know and ill do it later .. it takes a while to upload and im kind of in the middle of something at the moment :(

    What I was ACTIVELY doing at the time.

    Playing Neverwinter Online
    Had a voice chat going at the same time
    I THINK I had a browser windows up at the same time but wasn't actively browsing.

    ---Edited to add---
    I'm sure you are well aware of this but with verifier going .. at times it causes my system to slow down.. some times very dramatically. Even while NOT doing anything to intensive on my system.

    While I understand the fact that I need to keep it going to establish the cause of the issue(s) .. I would REALLY like to be able to shut it off .. as soon as possible.

    Thanks.
    ~LoneWolf
     

    Attached Files:

    LoneWolfMage, May 8, 2014
    #27
  8. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sorry for the delay.

    Ok the crash dump from 7th of May 2014 was caused by avast!.
    So please uninstall it and use Windows Defender. Please ensure that you update Defender to get the latest virus patterns.
    Once the crashes settle down try re-installing Avast!
    Code:
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xC1_32
    
    SPECIAL_POOL_CORRUPTION_TYPE:  32
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VERIFIER_ENABLED_VISTA_MINIDUMP
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  2
    
    ANALYSIS_VERSION: 6.3.9600.16384 (debuggers(dbg).130821-1623) amd64fre
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80257e78bb6 to fffff80257dd8fa0
    
    STACK_TEXT: 
    ffffd000`c34a95c8 fffff802`57e78bb6 : 00000000`000000c1 ffffcf80`38bd4fc0 ffffcf80`38bd48ac 00000000`00694040 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    ffffd000`c34a95d0 fffff802`57e79600 : ffffcf80`38bd4fc0 ffffe000`69e9cf58 00000000`00000246 fffff802`5830907a : nt!MiCheckSpecialPoolSlop+0x8a
    ffffd000`c34a9610 fffff802`57f1b376 : 00000000`00000040 00000000`0005eed0 00000000`00000000 00000000`6c644d56 : nt!MmFreeSpecialPool+0x14c
    ffffd000`c34a9750 fffff801`fc36010c : 00000000`00001000 ffffe000`69355680 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 ffffcf80`38bd6df0 : nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x1096
    ffffd000`c34a9820 00000000`00001000 : ffffe000`69355680 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 ffffcf80`38bd6df0 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 : aswStm+0x610c
    ffffd000`c34a9828 ffffe000`69355680 : ffffcf80`38bd2f60 ffffcf80`38bd6df0 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 fffff801`fc35fd38 : 0x1000
    ffffd000`c34a9830 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 : ffffcf80`38bd6df0 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 fffff801`fc35fd38 badbadfa`badbadfa : 0xffffe000`69355680
    ffffd000`c34a9838 ffffcf80`38bd6df0 : ffffcf80`38bd2f60 fffff801`fc35fd38 badbadfa`badbadfa ffffe000`6d97ee00 : 0xffffcf80`38bd2f60
    ffffd000`c34a9840 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 : fffff801`fc35fd38 badbadfa`badbadfa ffffe000`6d97ee00 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 : 0xffffcf80`38bd6df0
    ffffd000`c34a9848 fffff801`fc35fd38 : badbadfa`badbadfa ffffe000`6d97ee00 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 00000000`00000000 : 0xffffcf80`38bd2f60
    ffffd000`c34a9850 badbadfa`badbadfa : ffffe000`6d97ee00 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 00000000`00000000 ffffcf80`38bd8fc0 : aswStm+0x5d38
    ffffd000`c34a9858 ffffe000`6d97ee00 : ffffcf80`38bd2f60 00000000`00000000 ffffcf80`38bd8fc0 fffff801`fc35fa5c : 0xbadbadfa`badbadfa
    ffffd000`c34a9860 ffffcf80`38bd2f60 : 00000000`00000000 ffffcf80`38bd8fc0 fffff801`fc35fa5c ffffd000`00000001 : 0xffffe000`6d97ee00
    ffffd000`c34a9868 00000000`00000000 : ffffcf80`38bd8fc0 fffff801`fc35fa5c ffffd000`00000001 ffff7ed9`f1943abc : 0xffffcf80`38bd2f60
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    aswStm+610c
    fffff801`fc36010c ??  ???
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  4
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  aswStm+610c
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: aswStm
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  aswStm.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  5328af88
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0xC1_32_VRF_aswStm+610c
    
    BUCKET_ID:  0xC1_32_VRF_aswStm+610c
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:0xc1_32_vrf_aswstm+610c
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {ac1cbc7b-bd24-9764-18fd-8bf5d3115ffa}
    

    The second crash dated 8th May 2014 was a process called ooVoo.exe (Video Chat?) that caused your network driver to crash.
    Normally I would say to update the driver. But according to the Atheros web site HERE they don't have a Windows 8 driver. However you could try the Windows 7 64bit driver HERE and see if it updates the network card driver.

    Code:
    FAULTING_IP:
    L1E62x64+6c69
    fffff801`9f19bc69 4d8b36  mov  r14,qword ptr [r14]
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VERIFIER_ENABLED_VISTA_MINIDUMP
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  AV
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  ooVoo.exe
    
    ANALYSIS_VERSION: 6.3.9600.16384 (debuggers(dbg).130821-1623) amd64fre
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  ffffd000e9513270 -- (.trap 0xffffd000e9513270)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=0000000000000000 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=0000000000000282
    rdx=ffffe00108100df0 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff8019f19bc69 rsp=ffffd000e9513400 rbp=ffffd000e95134c0
    r8=ffffe00108100df0  r9=fffff8019d6ecd64 r10=fffff802ad50b5c0
    r11=ffffe0010814c0c0 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0  nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    L1E62x64+0x6c69:
    fffff801`9f19bc69 4d8b36  mov  r14,qword ptr [r14] ds:00000000`00000000=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff802acfd4ae9 to fffff802acfc8fa0
    
    STACK_TEXT: 
    ffffd000`e9513128 fffff802`acfd4ae9 : 00000000`0000000a ffffcf80`53be2e80 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    ffffd000`e9513130 fffff802`acfd333a : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`0039b800 ffffd000`e9513270 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
    ffffd000`e9513270 fffff801`9f19bc69 : ffffe001`07e4ca78 fffff801`9ca720df ffffe001`081a1660 ffffd000`e95134c0 : nt!KiPageFault+0x23a
    ffffd000`e9513400 ffffe001`07e4ca78 : fffff801`9ca720df ffffe001`081a1660 ffffd000`e95134c0 ffffe001`09132b58 : L1E62x64+0x6c69
    ffffd000`e9513408 fffff801`9ca720df : ffffe001`081a1660 ffffd000`e95134c0 ffffe001`09132b58 fffff801`000001d8 : 0xffffe001`07e4ca78
    ffffd000`e9513410 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 ffffcf80`53be2e80 ffffcf80`53be2d20 : VerifierExt!SLIC_KeAcquireSpinLockAtDpcLevel_entry_IrqlDispatch+0xb
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    L1E62x64+6c69
    fffff801`9f19bc69 4d8b36  mov  r14,qword ptr [r14]
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  3
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  L1E62x64+6c69
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: L1E62x64
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  L1E62x64.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4e7ad518
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  AV_VRF_L1E62x64+6c69
    
    BUCKET_ID:  AV_VRF_L1E62x64+6c69
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:av_vrf_l1e62x64+6c69
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {3d1e8fb9-cec0-44db-009b-0dbc90bce443}
    
    In regards to trying to bring this crashing to a close, we have to keep going as there are different things crashing your computer.
    However I would strongly suggest to refrain from installing any software until the crashing has stopped.
     
    Shintaro, May 8, 2014
    #28
  9. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm not sure why the wmic command didn't set the correct crash dump file.
    Could you please go to:
    From a Desktop -> Start -> Right click on "This PC" -> Advanced system Settings -> Startup and Recovery "Settings" button.
    Please make sure that the "Write debugging information" is set to "Kernel Memory Dump"
    Then reboot please.
     
    Shintaro, May 8, 2014
    #29
  10. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    As far as avast causing the crash I THINK I figured out why .. My version was outdated.
    I found the info that the older version I had(which wasn't actually very old I think it was off by one or 2 program updates) had a 'bug' in it as mentioned directly from the Avast site. Apparently multiple people had the same problem.

    So.
    Following their advice (as well as taking yours into consideration) I uninstalled the old version, cleaned up any remnants, and reinstalled it FRESH and updated the program and the definitions to the most recent. IF it causes a crash again .. I will do as you suggest and try with Windows Defender. As much as I dislike the program ( had a bad experience with it on mine and others computers) I'll give it a chance, if Avast causes a crash again. I figure better to rule it out entirely by installing the newest version, rather than give up on it completely.

    With regard to the network driver and oovoo, yes oovoo is my video/voice chat client. That too was updated to the most recent version recently. I also went ahead and did the clean uninstall and reinstall of the program(prior to the crash) to make sure nothing was left of previous versions.

    Network driver that you referenced in your post is actually OLDER than the one I have on my system. the one on my system currently is 1.0.0.23 with a date of 6/3/2011 the one of the site is 1.0.0.22 with a date of 4/1/2010. I believe the one I have was installed when I put win 8 on my system.

    Regarding the kernel dumps. I double checked where you suggested and it IS enabled. I just didn't upload the newest one(the 8th) to media fire YET. The one from the 7th is available at the link I provided a couple posts up.(post # 26) .

    If you would like me to , and as long as system doesn't crash between now and then, ill upload the kernal dump from the 8th. Since from what I can see, if it crashes it replaces/overwrites the oldest crash dump with the newest. And the system hasn't crashed since yesterday (the 8th) so that dump SHOULD still be available.
     
    LoneWolfMage, May 9, 2014
    #30
  11. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lets hope that the uninstall and install of the new version of Avast! works

    So lets see how things go. Hopefully things will settle down.

    Please keep us updated.
     
    Shintaro, May 9, 2014
    #31
  12. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoneWolfMage, May 9, 2014
    #32
  13. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoneWolfMage, May 9, 2014
    #33
  14. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    It is your Network Driver again. This time the process was GameClient.exe
    You could uninstall the current Network Driver and try the older one. Maybe that one might not crash?

    Code:
    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    L1E62x64!DmaSendNetBufferList+1e9
    fffff801`2ea0cc69 4d8b36  mov  r14,qword ptr [r14]
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  3
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  L1E62x64!DmaSendNetBufferList+1e9
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: L1E62x64
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  L1E62x64.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4e7ad518
    
    BUCKET_ID_FUNC_OFFSET:  1e9
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  AV_VRF_L1E62x64!DmaSendNetBufferList
    
    BUCKET_ID:  AV_VRF_L1E62x64!DmaSendNetBufferList
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:av_vrf_l1e62x64!dmasendnetbufferlist
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {d46bc665-d6b6-a02d-1f3f-fef7c738ed6f}
    
    
    
     
    Shintaro, May 10, 2014
    #34
  15. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~


    Game Client ... is MORE THAN LIKELY .. for Neverwinter ( I was playing that at the time of the crash) I use ARC to log into the game ..



    I'm wondering if I should just . reformat and re do . this computer ???
     
    LoneWolfMage, May 10, 2014
    #35
  16. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No, you will still have the same drivers and hence the same problems.

    Did you try the earlier network card driver?
     
    Shintaro, May 10, 2014
    #36
  17. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    I downloaded the network driver..

    I also TRIED to reinstall it after uninstalling it .. and it keeps 'defaulting' to the windows default driver . and wont let me install the downloaded river .

    What I DID notice .. was in power management.. when right clicking on the network card in device manager..

    WAS set to the following

    * = check mark

    * allow the computer to turn off this device
    *allow this device to wake the computer.
    *allow only a magic packet to wake the computer.


    these have all .. since this post .. have been unchecked.

    and system has been rebooted
    EDIT to add ... Magic packet even after reboot ... remains checked .
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2014
    LoneWolfMage, May 10, 2014
    #37
  18. LoneWolfMage

    Shintaro Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Mate,

    Are you able to take a screen shot of those options?
     
    Shintaro, May 10, 2014
    #38
  19. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shintaro~

    Screen shot attached as requested.
     

    Attached Files:

    LoneWolfMage, May 10, 2014
    #39
  20. LoneWolfMage

    LoneWolfMage

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoneWolfMage, May 10, 2014
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.