Skype - 2 accounts on the same computer.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Jacknot3d, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. Jacknot3d

    Jacknot3d

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anyone know how to have 2 skype accounts on on the same computer?

    Thanks.
     
    Jacknot3d, Mar 31, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jacknot3d

    Jessi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Jessi, Mar 31, 2013
    #2
    Jacknot3d likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jacknot3d

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    USA NC
    Sure you can just sign out of the first one and then sign in to the other one...but you can't have both accounts open at the same time.
     
    bassfisher6522, Apr 1, 2013
    #3
  4. Jacknot3d

    Andrew010

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    To use more than one Skype account on the same computer at the same time you need to start a new instance of Skype.
    1. From the Windows taskbar, click Start > Run (or press the Windows and R keys on your keyboard at the same time)
    2. In the Run window, enter the following command (include the quotes) and press OK:
      "C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe" /secondary

    If this solution fails, you can try another option:
    1. Find the Skype executable file (Skype.exe) in: C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\
    2. Right click on it and select Send to > Desktop (create shortcut)
    3. Locate the shortcut on the desktop, then right-click on it and select Properties
    4. In the Target field, add: /secondary. The Target field should now be "C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe" /secondary
    5. Click OK. You can now start a new instance of Skype every time you double-click the new shortcut.
    That's it. If you still fail at it then just use virtual box (but it's harder)
     
    Andrew010, Apr 1, 2013
    #4
    Jacknot3d likes this.
  5. Jacknot3d

    Jacknot3d

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've used the second option and yesterday was working (also found this online) but today the skype secondary isn't opening anymore!! I need this!!
     
    Jacknot3d, Apr 1, 2013
    #5
  6. Jacknot3d

    Aditya Kulkarni

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't really think that it is possible?
    But it is worth giving a try! It will be amazing if this thing happens! :)
     
    Aditya Kulkarni, Apr 3, 2013
    #6
  7. Jacknot3d

    Jacknot3d

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Made it work! the problem was that I was accessing skype secondary through the metro ui, and by there it was not working.

    What I did was: pinned the skype secondary shortcut in the bottom bar in the screen.
     
    Jacknot3d, Apr 3, 2013
    #7
  8. Jacknot3d

    bryce12

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I think you can also run multiple accounts by having different user accounts on a single computer. I'm not too sure about this but in my opinion it should work. Create a separate user account for every person using the computer and ask them to login from their accounts to run Skype.
     
    bryce12, Apr 30, 2013
    #8
  9. Jacknot3d

    Tyelander

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just log out then log back in when you want to use the other accounts. If you want to run them both at the same time, use Sandboxie. You can use it to run the same programme over and over again in a virtual box. If you want that, I will explain it in detail.
     
    Tyelander, May 29, 2013
    #9
  10. Jacknot3d

    carlalexander

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    I guess it is possible to have two Skype accounts on the same computer as long as you don't have both of them running at the same time. I share my laptop with my wife and we both have different Skype accounts on it :)
     
    carlalexander, Jun 25, 2013
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.