Skip the Windows 8 Start Screen

Discussion in 'Customization' started by CalamityJohn, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. CalamityJohn

    CalamityJohn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please forgive me if this has already been asked, but I could only see replacements for the Start Screen.

    I would prefer to just skip the start screen and land right on the desktop when I log in. Can I do this with some settings or a little tweak to my software?
     
    CalamityJohn, Feb 18, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CalamityJohn

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    You are forgiven !

    Do you want to go direct to the start screen and also have a legacy style start menu there? In that case, your better option is to install one of the thirs party start screens. They mostly have the option you are seeking.
    I would reccomend you try the "Classic"

    http://www.classicstart8.com/
    or the

    "startisback"

    http://startisback.com/

    If you only wish to go straight to the legacy desktop, then un zip the attached and install it.
     

    Attached Files:

    davehc, Feb 18, 2013
    #2
    CalamityJohn likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. CalamityJohn

    CalamityJohn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Dave, I just want to go direct to the legacy desktop, so I will run this attached application. Do I use the exe or the MSI file?
     
    CalamityJohn, Feb 20, 2013
    #3
  4. CalamityJohn

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Try the exe first
     
    davehc, Feb 20, 2013
    #4
  5. CalamityJohn

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    To start at the desktop all you need to do is to open explorer.exe on startup with argument %1 being this location:
    Code:
    SHELL:::{3080F90D-D7AD-11D9-BD98-0000947B0257}
    Try it in cmd.exe (command prompt):
    [​IMG]

    Easy way to do this is with a shortcut. See my attachment, I've created a shortcut for you, just add it to your startup folder.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Ace, Feb 21, 2013
    #5
  6. CalamityJohn

    CalamityJohn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you (again!).

    Hi Ace, I don't fully understand. Do I just run your attachment and it will do the same thing? Thanks for the screen-shot.
     
    CalamityJohn, Feb 27, 2013
    #6
  7. CalamityJohn

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    Ace, Feb 27, 2013
    #7
  8. CalamityJohn

    themarksquared

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    Please correct me if I'm wroong, but I've heard that the next Windows 8 update will include this feature where you can opt in to go immediately to your desktop when you log-in. Just giving you a heads-up so that you won't have to rely on 3rd-party applications in order to make your experience with Windows 8 better. I hope this helps!
     
    themarksquared, May 17, 2013
    #8
  9. CalamityJohn

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    You don't have to rely on a program to do this currently anyways. Where did you hear this?
     
    Ace, May 17, 2013
    #9
  10. CalamityJohn

    themarksquared

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines



    I read it on an article on the internet that the new windows 8 update will give the users an option to boot directly to the desktop to bypass the Metro interface once they start up their PC.

    Here's the source. I'm gonna quote one of its statements.



     
    themarksquared, May 18, 2013
    #10
  11. CalamityJohn

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    I was more asking about where you heard that a 3rd party program was required though, and not booting to the desktop being an option in Windows "Blue." A 3rd party program isn't required at all.
     
    Ace, May 18, 2013
    #11
  12. CalamityJohn

    themarksquared

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    Oh crap, I'm sorry, I must have misunderstood your reply. My apologies. I also failed to read your previous comments wherein you stated that you could just do it through the command prompt of the OS. Thanks for clearing it up for me.
     
    themarksquared, May 18, 2013
    #12
  13. CalamityJohn

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    Actually, the easiest way is to put the shortcut to C:\Windows\explorer.exe SHELL:::{3080F90D-D7AD-11D9-BD98-0000947B0257} into the SHELL:STARTUP location in explorer.

    Or to create a file with these hexadecimal byte values through a hex editor:
    Code:
    5B 53 68 65 6C 6C 5D 0D 0A 43 6F 6D 6D 61 6E 64 3D 32 0D 0A 49 63 6F 6E 46 69 6C 65 3D 65 78 70 6C 6F 72 65 72 2E 65 78 65 2C 33 0D 0A 5B 54 61 73 6B 62 61 72 5D 0D 0A 43 6F 6D 6D 61 6E 64 3D 54 6F 67 67 6C 65 44 65 73 6B 74 6F 70
    Rename the file with an .scf extension, and put that into the Startup folder.
     
    Ace, May 18, 2013
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.