Screen Size Too Small for Some Non-Windows 8 Applications

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by TheArtfulDodger, May 25, 2014.

1. TheArtfulDodger

TheArtfulDodger

Hello:

I am having a problem with some applications (mostly from Windows 7) that I am installing on my new Windows 8.1.1 tablet: the size of some dialogs are too large to fit onto the screen, and often the buttons I need to click are out of sight below the edge of the screen.

I've tried turning the screen on it's side, and that lets me see the bottom, but it's an awfully unwieldy thing to have to do in the 21st century on a new, state of the art machine!! For my tablet, it means unplugging the tablet from the keyboard each time!

I must admit up front that, despite having used various versions of Windows (all except ME and Vista) for over 20 years, I am a novice when it comes to Windows 8.1.1; therefore it might be a setting that I haven't found yet, but I am lost as to how to solve this properly.

Any help would be most appreciated.

TIA,

Sparky

TheArtfulDodger, May 25, 2014
    1. Advertisements

2. TheArtfulDodger

Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

Hello and welcome to the forum.
    What tablet is it? What is your current screen resolution set to?
    Some specifications regarding the actual computer you have might be helpful.
    Manufacturer, Model Name and Number, CPU specs, Memory, etc.
    If you're not sure of some of the detail you can use something like the free version of this http://www.piriform.com/speccy/download to obtain a lot of the data.

Trouble, May 25, 2014
    1. Advertisements

3. TheArtfulDodger

TheArtfulDodger

Hello, Trouble:

First, thanks for taking the trouble to write!!

My tablet is a Dell Venue 11 Pro 7130,Intel Core i5 4200U @ 1.60GHz processor, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD.

Resolution: 1920x1080 (Recommended), but less than 1920x1440 - thus some items might not fit on the screen. This might be the problem, but 1080 is the max of the screen.

Sparky