Screen flickers on loading WoW

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Victor Leigh, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. Victor Leigh

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    I am having a headache when I load up World of Warcraft in Windows 8. The screen keeps on flickering non-stop. I have tried disabling everything on the screen. I have even removed the wallpaper. The flickering is still there.

    Does anyone know what I can do to stop this? I mean other than stop playing World of Warcraft on Windows 8.
     
    Victor Leigh, Apr 26, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Victor Leigh

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Victor, what's your hardware (especially your graphics card)?

    I found this information which may help a little :)

    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/4768686897

     
    Ian, Apr 26, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Victor Leigh

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    I doubt if my graphics card is the culprit because I can load WoW properly without any flickering using Windows 7 which is installed on the same computer. Anyway, it's a Radeon. I will try what you have suggested and see what I get. Thank you for the tips.
     
    Victor Leigh, Apr 26, 2012
    #3
  4. Victor Leigh

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Good luck, I hope it works :)
     
    Ian, Apr 26, 2012
    #4
  5. Victor Leigh

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    I think I wasn't precise in my description of the problem. The flickering appears only before WoW loaded. Once WoW is loaded, there is no flickering at all. Also there was no flickering the very first time I used Windows 8 to load WoW. I suspect the culprit is something I added to Windows 8 later.
     
    Victor Leigh, Apr 26, 2012
    #5
  6. Victor Leigh

    TheDespite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you perhaps running the World of Warcraft from different partition of you HDD than your Windows 8?
    If you are, I suggest you try installing World of Warcraft on the same partition as your Win8.
     
    TheDespite, Apr 28, 2012
    #6
  7. Victor Leigh

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    I am running WoW from a different partition than the one with Windows. This is a normal procedure. Like I said earlier, I don't have this problem when I load WoW from Windows 7 and I didn't have this problem the very first time I loaded WoW from Windows 8. So logically it has to be something to do with what I have added later to Windows. Now I have to track back and see what modifications I have made.
     
    Victor Leigh, Apr 29, 2012
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.