Running win 7 programs on win 8?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Seasidepeter, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. Seasidepeter

    Seasidepeter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgive a dumb question, but I've only been running the new preview for a day...I've installed it on a second hard drive as a dual boot. Can I Explorer- over to my win7 drive and run programs from there, or do I have to reinstall stuff like Office on the new os?
     
    Seasidepeter, Mar 7, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Seasidepeter

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    You will have to reinstall in most cases. You might get away witht some of the small utilites/progs though.
     
    davehc, Mar 7, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Seasidepeter

    Seasidepeter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks; looks like Word doesn't run on it yet, reinstalled or not.
     
    Seasidepeter, Mar 7, 2012
    #3
  4. Seasidepeter

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Which one? I have 2010 running 100%
     
    davehc, Mar 7, 2012
    #4
  5. Seasidepeter

    Seasidepeter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Office 2007. When I double click on it from win8 I get a message to the effect that it "won't yet" run under win8. I'm not on that pc at the momennt, so can't quote it exactly.
     
    Seasidepeter, Mar 7, 2012
    #5
  6. Seasidepeter

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    I've googled and googled, and cannot find a reference to a problem with this. You could try right clicking the exe (install/setup - whatever) and choosing Vista from the compatibility tab.
     
    davehc, Mar 8, 2012
    #6
  7. Seasidepeter

    Seasidepeter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your efforts - I've tried all the compatibility modes, with no success. The message I get in all cases is "The operating system is not currently configured to run this program".
    I note several people are successfully running Office 10. Maybe it's M$ trying to make me upgrade...:-(
     
    Seasidepeter, Mar 8, 2012
    #7
  8. Seasidepeter

    Papo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    12
    Seasidepeter, maybe I misunderstood something, but are you trying to run Office 2010 on Windows 8 from a Windows 7 partition? If that is the case it will not run because the installation files must be within the OS...in this case Windows 8.

    Like I said, maybe I misunderstood you because on your first post on this thread you mentioned something to that fact.
     
    Papo, Mar 8, 2012
    #8
  9. Seasidepeter

    Seasidepeter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're absolutely right. I ran a couple of programs from the Win7 partition (skype, thunderbird) and they worked fine; so I sort of assumed Word would too.
    But of course, thinking about it, there are no installation files within Win8...
    I wonder if I can reinstall it without triggering a licensing problem. Twice on the same computer? Interesting....
     
    Seasidepeter, Mar 8, 2012
    #9
  10. Seasidepeter

    Papo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    12
    Papo, Mar 8, 2012
    #10
  11. Seasidepeter

    kevin yocum

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I echo the original thread. There are some programs which ran smoothly on win7 that do not load on Win 8. I have attempted to run side by side but win8 keeps refusing to accept a current digital media editing program. It is removed each time I load win8....win7 is set for compatiblilty to XP2.....any suggestions?
     
    kevin yocum, Mar 12, 2012
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.