Resolution issue on consumer preview

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sethm1, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. sethm1

    sethm1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last nite installed W8 preview on an Acer notebook that was running xp.
    When I tapped on the Store app (and others), I got an error that the screen was too small.
    Went to adjust - but biggest I can get is 800 x 600 (which is the recommended for my 10.1" screen).
    I can not change to 1024 x 768.

    Any work around?
     
    sethm1, Mar 1, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sethm1

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Welcome to the forums :). Do you have all of the appropriate drivers installed for your graphics adapter? I'd have thought that Windows 8 would pick it up ok, which should have allowed you to change resolution.

    BTW, do you have the model number of the notebook and I'll check it out - just in case there's something I'm missing.
     
    Ian, Mar 1, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sethm1

    sethm1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's an Aspire One D0250-1958.

    I too was hoping the drivers would be located automatically and frankly did not think to go to the Acer site as this is such a new OS.
     
    sethm1, Mar 1, 2012
    #3
  4. sethm1

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    I've had a look and it looks like that laptop is powered by the Intel GMA 950, which is quite popular. I'd try manually installing the Windows 7 drivers and see if that works - I did some googling and it looks like others with this adapter had the same problem in the developer preview.
     
    Ian, Mar 1, 2012
    #4
  5. sethm1

    sethm1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thx
    Went to the intel site and searched for the Gma950.
    But found a intel graphics media accelerator 3150 version 15.12.75.4.1939.

    Went to acres download site and found a VGA driver -version 8.15.10.1867.
    Would that be ok?
     
    sethm1, Mar 1, 2012
    #5
  6. sethm1

    sethm1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update - well after driver install the highest "it" will go is 1024 x 600 - oh so close but not enough.
     
    sethm1, Mar 2, 2012
    #6
  7. sethm1

    NiFu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Germany
    1. Try to find this key in registry:
      Display1_DownScalingSupported
    2. Set it from 0 to 1
    3. Reboot
    New resolutions: 1024x768 and 1152x864
     
    NiFu, Mar 6, 2012
    #7
    Ian likes this.
  8. sethm1

    sethm1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    great thanks.
    Now I need a driver for the audio! (went to Asus & Intel sites) Intel Realtek audio driver did not help.

    I'll keep plugging away.
     
    sethm1, Mar 7, 2012
    #8
  9. sethm1

    gailkill

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    gailkill, Jun 16, 2012
    #9
  10. sethm1

    Michael Phan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was unable to display full screen on my TV ever since i upgraded to W8 which is disappointing! Windows 7, I was able to do it but not W8. Microsoft needs to fix the resolution problem.
     
    Michael Phan, Jun 24, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.