RE : sync between 2 homegroup computers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by davidhk129, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have never done it as it is not necessary to do so.
    However, I have begun to feel its usefulness. So, I went about looking for a method.

    I have found SyncToy 2.1 from Microsoft download center.
    There is download choice of 32-bit and a 64-bit Setup exe.

    Here is my uncertainty.....
    The 2 computers I want to sync are a 32-bit and a 64-bit .
    Will this SyncToy work for me?

    Also,does it make any difference if the 2 computers are of 2 difference OS?

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
    davidhk129, Sep 16, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Forgot to mention.....
    The 2 computers that are in homegroup are set to share all folders.
    I have no issue access files and folders between the 2.
     
    davidhk129, Sep 16, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davidhk129

    Tim

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well not sure how much you like but Win 8.1 has a 'Work Folders' location that is suppose to do just that - they of course will also promote SkyDrive to achieve this - I use Cubby - so far so good (was a MESH user before)
     
    Tim, Sep 26, 2013
    #3
  4. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Where is that "work folders" ?
    Thank you.
     
    davidhk129, Sep 28, 2013
    #4
  5. davidhk129

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    SOURCE: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/dn140266.aspx

    Doesn't sound much like "work folders" will be all that handy for the casual home user.

    If SyncToy no longer works you may want to look into a product like GoodSync http://www.goodsync.com/download
     
    Trouble, Sep 28, 2013
    #5
  6. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thank you.
     
    davidhk129, Sep 29, 2013
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.