Printing Test pages with proper account

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Roger Laurel, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. Roger Laurel

    Roger Laurel

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am wondering how to correct this.

    I installed a new Windows 8.1 machine with a local administrator & 2 local user accounts. In the course of setting up one of the local user accounts, I errored & named the 2 local user incorrectly.

    I installed a printer & was printing a test page for each account. Upon printing a test page for the error account name, I realized my error & went back & corrected the account name. Login with with proper account name is fine.

    However, when I print a test page for this 'changed name' account, the test page prints out the former (incorrect) account name as the initiator of the test print! I thought changing the account name would take care of this. The printing works, but the name of the account which generated the "Test page" did not! ???

    I have tried rebooting the machine, removing & reinstalling the printer under the 'troubled' account. I tried restarting the machine to no avail. The one thing I have not tried is deleting the printer under the troubled account, restarting the Windows 8 Operating System & then installing the printer again.

    Something did not change in the registry! What & where is my error? I need to correct this & print a test page that indicates the print is coming from the correct workstation & the correct account installed on the workstation.
     
    Roger Laurel, Jul 8, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Roger Laurel

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    USA NC
    Try removing the local account that is problematic and re-create it then add the printer to it and print test page.
     
    bassfisher6522, Jul 8, 2015
    #2
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Roger Laurel

    Roger Laurel

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Worked perfectly! Had to set up the applications on the Start Screen again, but not a big deal. Easy! Thank you!
     
    Roger Laurel, Jul 8, 2015
    #3
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.