how to stop Win8 from logging me into my Microsoft account

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by scajjr2, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. scajjr2

    scajjr2

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got a new laptop with Win8. Made the mistake of linking it to my microsoft account now I have to enter the password every time I boot up. How do I UNLINK the laptop so I can just boot into Win8? (Using Start8 BTW)

    Sam
     
    scajjr2, Apr 30, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scajjr2

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Sounds to me like you're looking to "Switch to a local account".
    Hold the Windows Logo Key and strike the "c" to evoke the "Charms" side bar, click the Gear labeled "Settings" at the bottom. Then click the link at the very bottom that says "Change PC Settings".
    From the left column select "Users" and then click "Switch to a local account"
    Then you should be able to create the new local user through that interface.

    EDIT: And by the way. Hello and welcome to the forum. Thanks for taking the time to join our community.
     
    Trouble, Apr 30, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scajjr2

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    You can also, if you would prefer to go that way, have an automatic log in which will take you through to the desktop. __


    Press the Windows Key + R keyboard combination. This will bring up a run box, Type netplwiz and enter.
    You will now see the "User Accounts" dialog box, with a list of all the users on your computer.

    Select your user account from the list, then uncheck the “Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer” checkbox then click the apply button.
    Yet another window will pop up, , where you will need to input your password, then click OK.

    Click OK again to close the User Accounts dialog
     
    davehc, May 1, 2013
    #3
  4. scajjr2

    scajjr2

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.

    Sam
     
    scajjr2, May 1, 2013
    #4
  5. scajjr2

    xHysteria

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to make a local account. Just switch in the control panel for users.
    I did this for my dad because he doesn't regularly use his email via Microsoft.
     
    xHysteria, May 3, 2013
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.