how to stop background updating in win 8??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mohan_vijay_adusumilli, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to stop background updating in win 8?? i'm using 3g n it uses a lot f data in background.
    i've cmpltly stopped d win updates. i've tried using firewall 2 stop connections yet no use. Even d apps r nt updated.
     
    mohan_vijay_adusumilli, Mar 16, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    Kemical

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    2nd Star on the right...
    Hi Mohan,
    do you mean your desktop picture? If so you may your desktop settings set to change the picture every few minutes. This screenshot should help:

    [​IMG]
     
    Kemical, Mar 17, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    You say "updating"? Is this exactly what you mean, or are you referring to HD activity? If the latter, it could be the indexing and/or search compiling a database. How long since the install has it been going on? If you have been busy with work on the OS, since installation, both of these functions go onto low priority. If that is the cause, and it since a very recent install, allow the computer to run, with the activity, for some time.
     
    davehc, Mar 18, 2012
    #3
  4. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    exgonline

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    What you need to do is the following :

    1. Click on the desktop Metro Panel, so you see the traditional Windows desktop
    2. In the bottom right corner, click on the flag and open the action center.
    3. On the left hand side, click the "Windows Update" link.
    4. On the left side, click the "change settings" link.
    5. Choose the option you want from the drop down list.

    Remember Windows 8 is based on Windows 7, the control panel etc is still there, it is just finding it !!
     
    exgonline, Mar 27, 2012
    #4
  5. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    The post is a little old, and the OP did not respond. But, fwiw, he did stop Windows updates, according to his post.
     
    davehc, Mar 27, 2012
    #5
  6. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    imda1234

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I to have this problem. The posts above didn't resolve my problem ,can anyone help me out with this ??
     
    imda1234, Apr 8, 2012
    #6
  7. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    What have you tried so far Imda?
     
    davehc, Apr 8, 2012
    #7
  8. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    TheMightyEddy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3

    I've tried all the way to step 3 but when I click on "Windows Update" it just hangs there. I don't know if I'm doing anything wrong?
     
    TheMightyEddy, May 17, 2012
    #8
  9. mohan_vijay_adusumilli

    NickJ

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    14
    Call Microsoft and get support on the phone pronto.
     
    NickJ, Oct 27, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.