How to make international keyboard primary

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by gallicbear, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. gallicbear

    gallicbear

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Hi. Running Windows 8 Pro. I am using two keyboards, English and mostly English International because of foreign accents. I am able to switch between the two by pressing the Windows key and spacebar. But in my PC settings, Input keyboard, it only shows one item. So I cannot move the International up and make it primary. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
     
    gallicbear, Nov 9, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gallicbear

    airplayne

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried looking around for a driver for it? Usually additional options don't show up unless you have specific drivers for them.
     
    airplayne, Nov 11, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gallicbear

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Which international keyboard did you use (UK: US).

    I have a Danish Keyboard, for general use, and UK international as second choice.

    I can change the default through the Control panel - Language - Advanced settings, with the item "override your default input method"
     
    davehc, Nov 11, 2013
    #3
  4. gallicbear

    gallicbear

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Thanks for your contribution, airplayne. But this is a windows setting. It's not an actual hardware.
    Thank you also, davehc. With danish it's easy, because it's an actual language. But US international is only a keyboard setting. In my control panel, input only shows US International.
     
    gallicbear, Nov 11, 2013
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.