How do i turn off log in password?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by Matt, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi how do I turn this off and is there a way I can turn off email as well? Thank you.
     
    Matt, Jan 29, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Matt

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    When in the "modern" screen, search for and open the control panel. Go to user account and select your account. Click "make changes to my account in PC settings", and enter your old password and, for the new password, leave it empty. This will remove your password and when you turn on your PC it will sign in automatically.
     
    davehc, Jan 29, 2013
    #2
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Matt

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    And with respect to your question regarding "a way I can turn off email as well?"
    If you are talking about the live tile feature for mail on your start screen, you should be able to simply right click any live tile and choose Turn Off or Turn On as you wish.
    If your question is something else all together, then you'll need to be a little more specific.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    Trouble, Jan 29, 2013
    #3
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  4. Matt

    Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    If you're talking about the Live account linking, you can switch to a local account via User Accounts from the control panel.
     
    Ace, Feb 2, 2013
    #4
  5. Matt

    Aditya Kulkarni

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    That is an amazing trick you've told! It is really much important sometimes, when I have the BIOS password set for my laptop!
     
    Aditya Kulkarni, Feb 4, 2013
    #5
  6. Matt

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Tks, but it isn't a trick, nor is it illegal. It is a publicised way to bypass the login requirement
     
    davehc, Feb 4, 2013
    #6
  7. Matt

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    USA NC
    Is this the same for the MS account, because for me the above mentioned tip doesn't work.
     
    bassfisher6522, Feb 6, 2013
    #7
  8. Matt

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    A blank password for your live login will not likely work as it is not blank in the real world so attempting to make it blank locally will not work.
    Try this instead;
    WinKey + R, in the run dialog box type
    control userpasswords2
    select your live account from the list (the one with multiple group membership which includes the local "Administrators" group.
    Uncheck the top box that says "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer"
    Enter the proper password for your live account (twice)
    and click OK.
    Reboot your machine and see what happens.

    NOTE: Typing
    netplwiz
    into the run dialog box will produce the same password list wizard
     
    Trouble, Feb 6, 2013
    #8
  9. Matt

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks, Trouble. I guess you are probably correct.
    I believe, in the method you outlined, it would be necessary to check the "Users must enter a user name and password ...etc, in order to select your account, should there be others., and then uncheck it..
     
    davehc, Feb 6, 2013
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.