Has anyone noticed this on the Desktop UI in Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Support' started by brkkab123, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    Has anybody found a fix for this in the Windows 8 Desktop UI. If you resize the desktop icons to your liking and then restart your pc and go back to the Desktop UI the size has of the icons has changed from how you left them. If anybody has a fix for this please share as this is extremely annoying.
     
    brkkab123, Apr 20, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. brkkab123

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Working 100% for me. Using either the view option or mouse wheel, whatever I put, stays put.
     
    davehc, Apr 20, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks Dave. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the fact that AMD's Windows 8 drivers only support Radeon HD 5*** - HD 7*** video cards. The one I have in that pc is a Radeon HD 4650 and Windows 8 always says the driver Microsoft installed for it keep's crashing. I think I'm going to use Anytime Upgrade to update from Windows 7 Orofessional SP1 x64 to Ultimate SP1 x64 and make a 40GB. VHD and put Windows 8 CP on this pc and give it a go. This pc is alot more modern and powerful.
     
    brkkab123, Apr 20, 2012
    #3
  4. brkkab123

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    I doubt it, but who knows with computer hardware! The graphics card on my test machine is so old, I am using a very early Windows 7 driver.
     
    davehc, Apr 21, 2012
    #4
  5. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    To be quite honest, I completely forgot about even trying the current Windows 7 12.3 driver. I'll do that a little later today. I'm still going to switch this pc to Ultimate,as this will be the one it actually goes on in the end.I want to see how it performs on this one with my ssd. I've wanted to use Bitlocker for my d: drive anyway.When 8 gets released, I'll just unencrypt the d: drive before installing Windows 8 Pro and then let 8's Bitlocker reencrypt it.Plus with W7 Ultimate, I'll be going the vhd route, so when the 8 rc comes out I'll just delete the vhd and create a new one for the rc.
     
    brkkab123, Apr 21, 2012
    #5
  6. brkkab123

    Victor Leigh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    I don't face this problem with my Windows 8. Things remain the same as I have set them even after a re-boot. I am using Radeon. The Radeon driver that came together with Windows 8 works fine for me. I can play WoW with Windows 8. No problem so far.
     
    Victor Leigh, Apr 23, 2012
    #6
  7. brkkab123

    brkkab123

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Florida
    OK, I didn't realize that Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64 has the ability to create Virtual Hard Drives. I read a article that Ed Bott posted early Friday about putting Windows 8 on a VHD in Windows 7. He states you needed Windows 7 Ultimate or Enterprize. Apparently he forgot to add W7 Professional to the list. Anyway the same issue exists on this pc , with much more modern hardware. MSI 890 FXA-GD70 mobo, AMD Phenom 2 1100T cpu, Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866 ram 16 gbs., OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOPs 120 GB ssd, 2 WD Caviar Black 1.0 TB 32MB cache hard drives, HIS Digital Radeon HD 6950 2.0 GB factory O.C.'ed to HD 6970, Hauppage WinTV HVR-1850 tv tuner NZXT Tempest EVO case and OCZ ZX Series 1250 watt single-rail modular psu. On this pc using the VHD Windows 8 Consumer Preview x64 also fails to finalize the WEI due to it being on a VHD.
     
    brkkab123, Apr 23, 2012
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.