Acer Iconia W3 vs Toshiba Satellite

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Trent Berlinger, Aug 31, 2013.

1. Trent Berlinger

Trent Berlinger

Here's the thing. I need a new computer, and I'm going back and forth between the tablet and the laptop route. I need it for some heavy word-processing and document-editing. I'm a freelance writer, so I'll be using Microsoft Word a lot. I have been looking at two routes, and would like to know anyone's opinions on which route to go. I want to do something low-cost and don't need a whole lot of processing power.

1. Acer Iconia W3 + Keyboard + USB Adapter - $330 (Give or take)

It's a small 8-inch tablet, but holds the full Windows 8 experience on it. It also comes bundled with Microsoft Office Home and Student 2013. So, with this deal, we've got $330 total for the device, keyboard, an adapter to enable USB peripherals. That is a very low price.

Pros
    - Convenience and Portability
    - Microsoft Office bundles into the device

Cons
    - The device is small and could cause some eye-strain when doing heavy editing
    - Very little hard drive space, requiring SD Cards and USB Peripherals for extra space

2. Toshiba C55D + Microsoft Office Home and Student 2013 - $420-500 (The price is jumping back and forth on Amazon)

This is a 15-inch laptop with Windows 8, 4 GB of ram, 500 GB Hard Drive, and a full keyboard, including a keypad. It is considerably more expensive than the tablet, but likely more sturdy.

Pros
    - Larger Screen for less eye strain
    - More Hard Drive Space

Cons
    - Does not come bundled with Microsoft Office
    - Larger and less convenient

The question is do I save up and buy the Iconia W3 deal or is it worth the wait to save up longer and buy the laptop? I am conflicted on this and would like some outside opinions.

Trent Berlinger, Aug 31, 2013
    1. Advertisements

2. Trent Berlinger

Trouble noob whisperer Moderator