A puzzle and an irritation.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by davidhk129, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    I am not sure what I did before this happened.

    I never learn how to type, so I am clumsy doing that.
    Once in a while, not all the time, I had a typo and I wanted to insert a letter for spelling correction.
    Instead of just inserting the letter, the letter inserted replaced the letter behind it. Any subsequent letter I typed would replace the one that was behind. I would end up backspacing the whole sentence and retype.

    Obviously I must have hit something mistakenly to cause this.
    Question is, what did I do?
     
    davidhk129, Nov 28, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davidhk129

    Trouble noob whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Can you clarify? I assume you are referring to an application, can you be specific? Is it a browser? Is it all browsers? Is it a word processor? Is it all word processors?
     
    Trouble, Nov 30, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    No. Just typing.
    It could be typing an email which would be WILM, it could be typing a reply to a forum such as this one using IE10 or IE11.
    I don't use MS Word although I have MS Office suite for 4 years.
    I use IE10 exclusively on Win 7, and IE11 on Win 8.1

    Example of my problem.....
    Let's say I misspell 'emphasis' into 'empasis'.
    If I insert the "h" between 'p' and 'a', it becomes this....emphsis. It replaces the letter "a"
    If I type the ' a' back, it becomes this ...emphais, it replaces 's', and so on.

    Bear in mind that it happens only once awhile.
    I must have hit a wrong key or combination of . I just don't know what.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 30, 2013
    #3
  4. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sounds like perhaps you are accidentally hitting the INSERT key, or it is faulty?
     
    davehc, Nov 30, 2013
    #4
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Accidentally hitting the Insert key does bring about the described incident.
    However, my Insert key is at the top row, 6th from the right.
    I have a 17.3" laptop, keyboard is pretty big. My right hand will never reach that high on the keyboard without reason, and there is no reason. Not even accidentally.

    editing : unless there is a keyboard shortcut for Insert that I accidentally hit.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 30, 2013
    #5
  6. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    I am using my Laptop, at the moment, which does not have a number pad. But, on the PC keyboard with a number pad, and with the number pad OFF, the 0 toggles Insert . Is this a possibility?
     
    davehc, Nov 30, 2013
    #6
  7. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    I had tried that " 0 Insert " key at the number pad.
    My number pad is always on, and hitting that key will give me number zero, 0.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 30, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.