A minor issue.....

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have 2 laptops, one with Win 7 SP1 IE10, one with Win 8.1 Pro IE11.

    I use shortcuts on my desktop for convenience.

    On my Win 7 , the shortcuts of Windows8Forums.com and Windows9Forums.com look generic....
    win 7.png

    On my win 8.1, the same 2 shortcuts have the correct look...............
    win 8.1.png


    I have run the Icon Cache Rebuild tutorial and it does not do any better. That tutorial always works for me .... until now.
    I also have clear my browser cache, and even Reset my IE10.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2013
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davidhk129

    themarting

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are they the same 2 shortcuts as in theyre both short cuts that lead to the same websites? or the same as in theyre the exact same .lnk file?

    is it possible to manually assign icons to internet shortcuts? If so and if they not the same file, you could copy the "correct" icon to a location that's easy to reach from both installs. You could then assign the coorrect icon from the properties menu of the generic icons.

    Otherwise you could try to get the .ico from the mods here and assign it with the properties menu
     
    themarting, Nov 23, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    In Windows 7, If you right click and hold the icon on the website, top left, and drag it to the desktop, it should come up with the same icon. The little 4 paned window, for example.

    IEICON.PNG
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2013
    davehc, Nov 23, 2013
    #3
  4. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    No. Still the same generic shortcuts.

    You screenshot and method came from Win 8.1 computer. Yes ?
    It does not work on my Win 7 laptop.
    Bear in mind that I have the correct shortcuts on my Win 8.1 Pro.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #4
  5. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thisone.PNG No. I rebooted into Windows 7.
    Just to confirm. I mean this icon:
     
    davehc, Nov 23, 2013
    #5
  6. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Then it must be my computer.
    However, I have more than 100 shortcuts on my win 7 desktop, they all have the correct image, except these 2.

    Image 2.png
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #6
  7. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Aha !

    Image 3.png
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #7
  8. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Are you using IE10 or 11 ?
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #8
  9. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    IE10 on Windows 7 and IE11 on Windows 8.
    Are you using IE as your default in windows 7
     
    davehc, Nov 23, 2013
    #9
  10. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yes. It is.

    Right now, I run into a little mess.
    I uninstalled IE10, thinking I would re-install it to see if the issue will disappear.
    Found myself back to IE8. I had IE9 before IE10. I swear.
    So, I tried to re-install IE10, it failed to install.
    I installed IE9 and that went through ok. But, I failed again trying to re-install IE10.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #10
  11. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    WELL !!!

    Good thing I do system image backup regularly. That saves my bacon.
    I am back with IE10 after running the latest system image backup.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 23, 2013
    #11
    Ian likes this.
  12. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    I Really like that post.! Imaging has got to be thrust more often.
    If all users would make frequent image backups, the posts regarding problems, on the web, would drop by 50%
     
    davehc, Nov 24, 2013
    #12
  13. davidhk129

    themarting

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    4
    HOLY COW YOU HAVE A LOT OF ICONS!
     
    themarting, Nov 24, 2013
    #13
    Ian likes this.
  14. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes. I had a second take on that! I think the graphics card would burn out on my poor, inadequate laptop.
     
    davehc, Nov 25, 2013
    #14
  15. davidhk129

    themarting

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    4
    davidhk129 do you actually use everything on that desktop regularly enough to justify an icon for each?
     
    themarting, Nov 25, 2013
    #15
  16. davidhk129

    davehc

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Denmark
    What he does with his icons, is not the concern of this thread.
     
    davehc, Nov 25, 2013
    #16
  17. davidhk129

    themarting

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    4
    no of course not i was just curious.

    So davidhk129, have you tried the method i suggested to assign the correct image to the icon before? (doing it through the properties menu of the icon)
     
    themarting, Nov 26, 2013
    #17
  18. davidhk129

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Ian, Nov 28, 2013
    #18
  19. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35
    What do I do with your links?
    I clicked at the first link and it showed an image I wanted as my shortcut. Then what?
     
    davidhk129, Nov 28, 2013
    #19
  20. davidhk129

    davidhk129

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    35

    That was the first thing I tried. It does not have what I am looking for.
     
    davidhk129, Nov 28, 2013
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.